More about holy days



Ken Collins’ Web Site

Tap on the cross to go to the start page
Scroll down for more…

The Season After Pentecost

The Church fulfills the Great Commission
The Season After Pentecost lasts from the day after Pentecost to the day before Advent. Thus it begins on 21 May 2018 and ends on 1 December 2018.
In most churches, the decorations are green to symbolize the growth and life of the Church. You can read more about color in worship
Scripture Readings:
The Revised Common Lectionary appoints Scripture readings for use in worship during the Season after Pentecost.

View the Scripture Readings for the Season after Pentecost

The East:
In Orthodox churches, this season lasts from the day after Pentecost through 14 November.
Special Days:
See below.

The Season After Pentecost is essentially the part of the year that is left over after everything has been accounted for. The name of this season varies widely from church to church—it can be called Kingdomtide, Dominiontide, or Ordinary Time. In most churches, the general theme of the Bible readings and sermons concerns the church’s mission in the world.

The Season After Pentecost begins on 21 May 2018, the day after Pentecost. In the western Church, it ends on 1 December 2018, the day before the First Sunday of Advent. In the eastern Church, it ends on 14 November.

The main holy days during this season are as follows:

The Western Church

The Eastern Church

Roughly speaking, the western Church consists of Protestants, Catholics, and Anglicans. The eastern Church consists of the Eastern Orthodox churches, the Orthodox Oriental churches, and the eastern-rite churches affiliated with the Roman Catholic Church.

Other Seasons

Advent | Christmas | Epiphany | Lent | Holy Week | Easter